Athanor Isle update

Things are going well with Athanor Isle. I have most of the characters written, though they’re all missing supporting characters and many are missing the “Capabilities” section. The relationship map is done, and I like how it came out. Today I’m hoping to fill in a few blank spots in the characters and to work on the map. The city may be ever-changing and unmappable, but that doesn’t mean I can’t show the rest of the island.

Although, for the city… I could create a few hex-shaped geomorphs for the city and have a random generator that puts them together in different orders. The programming for that would be easy; the hard part will actually be creating the geomorphs and not having them look awful. I’d only need 14 of them, since no part of the city disappears. Hmm. Food for thought.

One thought on “Athanor Isle update

  1. Ok, good news on the geomorphs: It’s not as bad as I thought. I can make hexagonal map tiles that look reasonable using Google Slides. Bad news: it still takes about two hours to make one, and I miscounted the number I need. I need 19 of them. That means it would be about a full work week to actually create all of these, and I just don’t have that amount of time to spend on top of actually writing up the characters, finding and tweaking the art, doing layout, etc.

    My second option is creating just 7 of them, which is a simpler and smaller city, but which I might actually be able to complete. For now, that’s my goal. I might be able to crank through these faster once I’m more familiar with the process, but that rarely happens to me – I end up using the same amount of time and making things that are higher quality, rather than keeping the same quality and going faster.

    Like

Leave a Reply

